Fraternities and Sororities

The growing number of student groups, fraternities, and sororities at the U of A can play a vibrant role in undergraduate student life.

The first University of Alberta fraternity was charted in 1930 and, today, there are twelve fraternities and six sororities made up of more than 600 students. These 18 chapters are governed by one of two councils: the Interfraternity Council and the Panhellenic Council

Fraternities and sororities are recognized as University of Alberta Student Groups by the Office of the Dean of Students and the Students' Union. Like all other University Student Groups, fraternities and sororities reapply for University and Students' Union recognition annually and are supported by Student Group Services and the Office of the Dean of Students. Fraternities and sororities are also supported by local alumni advisors and their international headquarters.

For more information on fraternities and sororities at the University of Alberta, please contact the Office of the Dean of Students at dosdean@ualberta.ca

Fraternities

Local chapter   International Website
Delta Chi  www.deltachi.org
Delta Kappa Epsilon    dke.org
Delta Upsilon   www.deltau.org
FarmHouse  www.farmhouse.org
Kappa Sigma  www.kappasigma.org
Lambda Chi Alpha  www.lambdachi.org
Phi Delta Theta   www.phideltatheta.org
Phi Gamma Delta   www.phigam.org
Pi Kappa Alpha   www.pikes.org
Theta Chi  www.thetachi.org
Zeta Psi   www.zetapsi.org

Sororities

Local chapters   International Website 
Alpha Gamma Delta    www.alphagammadelta.org
Alpha Psi   n/a
Ceres   www.ceresfraternity.org
Delta Gamma   www.deltagamma.org
Kappa Alpha Theta   www.kappaalphatheta.org
Pi Beta Phi   www.pibetaphi.org